Bmobile Tobago Swim Classic Makes a Big Splash

The bmobile Tobago Swim Classic splashed down last weekend in Orange Hill with a keenly contested two-day championship event. Some of the best of the islands’ swimmers went head to head for over $20,000 in prizes. Two of last year’s best overall swimmers, Mosi Denoon of Atlantis and Sharlaw Boodoo from the Blue Dolphins, eagerly defended their ranking against several rising stars in the persons of Julian Fletcher, Adam Collier and Travis Sebro. It was Adam Collier of Tobago Youth Development Centre who emerged as the Best Tobago Boy while Aaron Acres of La Joya Torpedoes copped Best Overall Boy.

“This is the second year TSTT is sponsoring this event and we are seeing how it is making a huge difference in the preparations and performance of amateur swimmers who want to become competitive and perhaps represent the country some day” says Ronald Celestine, TSTT’s Head of Tobago Operations.

Over 200 swimmers ranging in age from under 5 to over 20 took the dive to represent the eight (8) participating clubs from Trinidad and Tobago. Some special open races were added for swim enthusiasts in the audience to participate.

According to Johnathan Louis, President of the Tobago Youth Development Centre (TYDC), “TSTT’s support has done a lot to help us infuse greater interest in the sport of swimming in Tobago. We are also hoping to galvanize support for the construction of a proper training pool for the hundreds of school children that are in our training program.” Louis noted that swimming athletes in Tobago were at a disadvantage because they did not have access to such a facility, “nonetheless, we always give very creditable performances”.

SWIM RESULTS Placing of clubs Tsunami - 1st Blue Dolphin - 2nd Atlantis - 3rd La Joya Torpedoes - 4th Tobago Youth Development Centre – 5th Tidal wave Aquatics Barracuda Swim Club Petrotrin Swim Club Flying Fish Swim Club Best Overall Boy - Aaron Acres (La Joya Torpedoes) Best Overall Girl - Chelsea Bynoe Sawyer (Tsunami) Best Tobago Boy - Adam Collier (Tobago Youth Development Centre) Best Tobago Girl - Akeila Smith - (Tobago Youth Development Centre)